Originally posted on CBS Connecticut:

By MICHAEL MELIA, Associated Press

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) _ The moment Alissa Parker learned of a shooting at her daughter’s school, she suddenly regretted not pointing out what she had seen as security gaps at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Parker, whose 6-year-old daughter Emilie was among 20 first-graders killed in the Dec. 14 massacre, had thought security could have been tighter, although she never could have guessed it would be tested by a gunman with a military-style, semi-automatic rifle.

“I have to admit, the minute that I received the phone call that said there was a shooting and it was at Sandy Hook, my mind went back to what I had thought and what I had known were the imperfections of the security at Sandy Hook, and I immediately knew my child was at risk,” she said Thursday. “I immediately regretted not saying anything.”

As parents who lost children turned…

View original 383 more words

